top of page
  • Greg Wille

FOOTBALL: Salado's Brown MVP of 9-4A D-II; Eagles' Miller, Keyser, Strickland, Haire earn awards

SALADO SUPERLATIVES: Running back/safety/kicker/punter Wrook Brown (right) was voted Most Valuable Player of District 9-4A Division II, and fellow Salado senior Peyton Miller, an inside linebacker, was selected Defensive MVP. They helped lead the Eagles (11-2) to an unbeaten district championship and the Region III semifinals. Also for Salado, junior tackle Gavyn Keyser was named the league's Outstanding Offensive Lineman; sophomore halfback Caden Strickland shared the Offensive Newcomer of the Year award; and fifth-year boss Alan Haire earned the Coach of the Year honor. (File photo by Greg Wille,



As voted on by the

district's head coaches:


Most Valuable Player – Wrook Brown, Salado, running back/safety/kicker/punter, senior

Co-Offensive MVPs – Major Bowden, China Spring, junior; Kavian Gaither, Waco Connally, senior

Defensive MVP – Peyton Miller, Salado, linebacker, senior

Co-Offensive Newcomers of the Year – Caden Strickland, Salado, running back, sophomore; Tre Wisner, Connally, sophomore

Co-Defensive Newcomers of the Year – Lawson Mooney, Gatesville, linebacker, freshman; Greg Salazar, China Spring, sophomore

Outstanding Offensive Lineman – Gavyn Keyser, Salado, junior

Co-Outstanding Defensive Linemen – Coltin Locking, China Spring, senior; Torii Pullen, Connally, senior

Coach of the Year – Alan Haire, Salado



Quarterback – Hutton Haire, Salado, junior; Luke Mullins, Gatesville, senior; Joseph McHenry, Robinson, senior

Running back – Reid Vincent, Salado, senior; Derrick Warren, Jarrell, junior; Emmanuel Abdallah, China Spring, senior

Fullback – Noah Mescher, Salado, senior; David De Lafuente Jr., Connally, senior

Outside receiver – Bronsha Miles Jr., Connally, senior

Tight end – Nick Sibbitt, Salado, senior; Logan Edwards, Gatesville, junior

Center – Bryce Dobbins, Salado, senior; Hayden Hopkins, China Spring, senior; Cody Coffman, Connally, senior

Tackle – Emerson Kirby, Jarrell, junior; Ben Perkins, China Spring, senior; Greyson Snydal, China Spring, senior; Cobie Gray, Connally, senior; Jermaine Spirlark, Connally, senior

Guard – Aidan Wilson, Salado, junior; Evan Hanson, Gatesville, junior


Inside linebacker – Kofi Stoglin, Salado, senior; Greg Washington, Salado, senior; Zach Bates, Gatesville, senior; Brayden Faulkner, China Spring, junior; Tristyn Pechacek, China Spring, senior; LaMarcus McDonald Jr., Connally, junior

Outside linebacker – Lucas Morvant, Salado, senior; Tre Hafford, China Spring, sophomore; Kavian Gaither, Connally, senior; Cooper Petty, Robinson, senior

End – Brennam Wilson, Jarrell, senior; Dawson Exline, China Spring, junior

Tackle – Kory Walker, Salado, senior; Trey Walker, Connally, senior

Safety – Josh Huckabee, Salado, junior; Hayden Mooney, Gatesville, junior; Marcus Long Jr., Connally, senior

Cornerback – LaTrell Jenkins, Salado, senior; Jacob Baker, Gatesville, junior; Jalani Price, Jarrell, sophomore; Perrish Cox III, Connally, senior



Quarterback – Aden Edgar, Jarrell, senior

Running back – Germone Powell, Connally, junior

Outside receiver – Tre Hafford, China Spring, sophomore; Perrish Cox III, Connally, senior

Inside receiver – Sebastian Trevino, China Spring, junior; Marcus Long Jr., Connally, senior

Tight end – Kole Maedgen, Salado, senior

Tackle – Avery Womack, Salado, senior; Toby Szustak, Gatesville, senior

Guard – K.C. Perkins, Salado, senior; Brennam Wilson, Jarrell, senior; Braden Spivey, China Spring, senior; Jesse Narvaez, Connally, junior; Eduardo Chavez, Robinson, junior

Utility – Jordan Nevarez, China Spring, senior

Kicker – Luis Macias, Gatesville, junior; Ralph Morales, Connally, senior


Inside linebacker – Brayden Sumners, Salado, junior

Outside linebacker – Ashtyn Culley, Gatesville, sophomore; Jamarri Price, Jarrell, junior; Almear Degrate, China Spring, senior; EJ Torres-Luna, Connally, senior

End – Ryan Poe, Salado, senior; Garrett Combs, Salado, freshman; Cayden Mata, Gatesville, junior; Ashton Brooks-Williams, Connally, junior; David De Lafuente Jr., Connally, senior

Tackle – Blake Volk, Salado, junior; Ryan Smiley, Gatesville, junior

Safety – Candon Bruner, Jarrell, junior; Jordan Nevarez, China Spring, senior; Mason Kirk, China Spring, sophomore; Tre Wisner, Connally, sophomore; Slade McCloud, Robinson, senior

Cornerback – Karson Coe, China Spring, senior

Punter – Aveyn Sarinana, Gatesville, senior


Salado – Logan Pitts, tight end, senior; Beau Hill, defensive tackle, junior

Gatesville – Parker Allman, junior; Thiele Alvarado, sophomore; Carson Brizendine, junior; Wesley Brown, junior; Jaiden Gomez; Josh Smith; Trevor Smith, sophomore

370 views0 comments


bottom of page